top of page

Making Progress through Surrender


I have so much on my mind that I want to share, so I'll pick-up where I left off. For starters, our classroom has moved. I am still in Homer, but the building were class was being held was purchased by a local restaurant owner and we have since relocated. It is still close by, but the space YWAM is currently using is not shared. It is a beautiful rambler style home and accommodates both the base staff and school perfectly. I will include the new address at the conclusion of this update.*

Week 8 has now come and gone. We've had a couple of great teachers come and go as well. Week 6 and 7 were all about nutrition and herbs. Nutrition week has been one of my most favorite, but challenging weeks so far. Really learning to understand how God created our bodies to work has been eye-opening for me. I've been challenging myself to take a closer look at my own health and make some small, sustainable changes. I have started taking a high quality multi-vitamin and making sure I get as much sunlight as possible each day. Learning about herbs and essential oils was fun, too. Nutrition, using herbs and oils are all things I am able to use now, but I look forward to the day when I'll be able to use them to benefit a laboring mother to help bring her baby earth side!

During this last week, we learned about the role of being a birth assistant. It was very informative and were able to do quite a bit of "hands-on" practicals. We "practiced" learning how to do cervical exams, perform a blood glucose check and had the opportunity to do a mock scenario where we were caring for a mom in a home birth environment. Little did I know, it would be my first time "catching a baby". It was exciting, but even during the "mock birth scenario", it helped me realized how crucial it is to really understand and know what my role is each time I will be at a birth. Someone's life may one day depend on it! What an incredible responsibility with an even greater reward!

This last week has been a bit of a reality check for me. One afternoon was spent talking about internships. I knew coming here and going through this course would lead to an internship, but when it was being discussed, I felt like a ton of bricks had just been placed on my chest. I immediately felt fearful and wanted to hide. Why you might ask? I am walking into a dream of my heart coming true. There are risks, but with them come even greater rewards! Stepping into a dream coming true is something I don't take lightly. It is a privilege to be able to partner with the Lord and how He is raising up women to defend what He holds so close to His heart - LIFE!

A word that comes to mind is surrender. I have felt so much in these last few weeks that the Lord is taking me through a season of surrendering to Him: my heart, my thoughts, my actions, especially my finances and current belief systems. The word surrender as defined in the dictionary is as follows: to give up completely or agree to forgo in favor of another. WOW! I know that the Lord's plans for me are greater than I have for myself and as I walk out this season of my life, I want to receive the FULLNESS of what He has for me.

I want to end this post on a positive note saved this especially for my blog! For those of you who have been following along on my journey, I am excited to share with you the conclusion of my follow-up appointment with the electrophysiologist. My heart has been completely healed!! Yes, that is correct. There are no abnormalities or underlying conditions!! I have been processing through this and it brings me to tears because I have yet another testimony of the Lord's faithfulness that neither the enemy or anyone else will ever take away from me! The Lord has given me a brand new heart like He told me He would. I don't want to waste this life I have been given, but live fully in surrender to the one who gave it all!! Thank you to all of those who have been praying for me both near and far. The Lord is faithful and has answered those prayers!!

Thank you for sticking with me! I am currently at a point where I am in need of finances. I am in need of $900 by April 2nd. This will include my rent, money for food and the deposit I will need for my internship placement. The best way to give to me is either via PayPal @ luv_sunflwrs@yahoo.com or via my youcaring.com/becomingamidwife fundraiser. I greatly appreciate all of the encouragement, financial support and prayers I have received. None of what I'm doing would be possible without these! Please let me know if you have any questions or would like information about how you can partner with me on this journey.

*My new address is:

Erin O'Neill c/o YWAM

196 W. Cityview Ave.

Homer, AK 99603

(This address is for FedEx and UPS packages only)

Erin O'Neill c/o YWAM

P.O. Box 959

Homer, AK 99603

(For standard mail and any USPS packages)

**I love getting mail!!**

bottom of page