top of page

Settling In: A New Season has Begun


As this next season of my life is beginning to unfold, I have officially relocated to beautiful, scenic, but very cold Homer, Alaska. Learning the layout of a new city, figuring out how to maneuver around in a 2 bedroom apartment with 4 girls all sharing 1 bathroom and learning time management because there is homework and assignments, have all been on the agenda. I know where the Safeway, laundromat, hospital and the most incredible place is to have an impromptu worship service with the leaders and other students are located. There are some amazing views that you have to see to believe exist on earth! I have also adjusted to the minimal sunlight and shortened amount of daylight and enjoy taking short brisk walks with a friend or by myself. I have felt at peace from the moment I arrived; the Lord has been with me and I have felt His tangible presence. I feel Him in my spirit, in the classroom, while I'm doing my homework and through the amazing people who surround me.

During week 1, we learned about the global crisis with regards to how women and children are treated around the world. What an eye opener that was for me! The way in which women are treated and viewed as property with no rights, being raped because that is the way the men show their power and pregnancy, giving birth and the shame which goes along with it, is incredibly gut wrenching! How do I play a role in helping to fix these global issues? Pray and ask Him what my part is in the restoration of normalizing birth. I do not know at this particular moment what my particular role will be or where I will go, but I do know it will be made clear to me in His timing.

I finished week 1 strong! I am looking forward to week 2 learning about anatomy and physiology (which will be mostly a review for me).

bottom of page